Read of the Week: The End of The Affair by Graham Greene

A marvellous novel – also enjoyed by some members of our book club, and which engendered animated discussion!

The Reader Online

GG-2_grandeThis week’s Read comes recommended by our Schools Coordinator Natalie who has chosen Graham Greene’s The End of the Affair.

View original post 236 more words

Author: Berkhamsted School Library

Main aims for Berkhamsted School Library • to provide a central resource for the whole school curriculum • to encourage an ethos of enquiry and discovery • to assist pupils in becoming confident and independent learners • to develop research and information skills throughout the school • to offer resources which enrich cultural values and experiences for pupils, as well as have a role in their recreational life and promote reading for pleasure as a lifelong activity

3 thoughts on “Read of the Week: The End of The Affair by Graham Greene”

  1. How amazing that I should share so many ideas with the writer of this review. The End of the Affair represented for me as well the first encounter with Graham Greene and the beginning of my own long lasting love story with this terrific writer and great explorer of the human soul. I happened to pick it up for the first time at a particular time in my life when it had a lot to say to me… and it still has every time I go back to it – very often.
    Although the story is set in Clapham the name of the place is not stated in the book. At the time I first read it, I happened to have recently spent a few months there and going through the pages I could recognize all the familiar places and especially, of course, the Common which almost becomes a living entity . It is the “battlefield” (to use another word with “greenian” associations) for the love story narrated, with the two lovers being separated by it and walking across it to meet each other. I can feel their emotions every time I happen to visit Claham again after so many years.
    Thank you for suggesting this book as the read of the week.

    1. Thank you for your comment, Francesca. I am ashamed to say that you know Clapham better than I do! But, like you, ‘The end of the affair’ came to me just as I needed it, and helped me to process what I was going through at the time. I love Greene’s writing and am fortunate enough to work at the school where his father was Headmaster and where he was born. Each year, in Berkhamsted, his birthday is celebrated by a Graham Green Festival which is organised by the Graham Green Birthplace Trust at the end of September/early October where they hold some fantastic talks and a film screening of one of the books adapted into film or documentary about him, his life and literature. This website: http://grahamgreenebt.org/festival-2017/ should have all the details for this year, if you’re interested! Let me know if you come!

      1. Thank you for your reply, Natalie. Once again I feel exactly the same as you, about The End of the Affair coming at the right time. I find G.G. always has something for everyone at some particular time in their lives, that’s why I think he knows the human soul so well.
        Thank you for your information about the Graham Greene festival. I was actually there in 2011 while visiting Berkhamsted School at the same time. I wonder if we might have met on that occasion, I was jobshadowing Barbara Evans as part of a project I was carrying out at the time. It was an unforgettable experience for me. Un fortunately I can’t come regularly because I am a teacher too and am not entitled to any time off at that time of term, the 2011 visit was a one off, because of the project.
        If I happen to be able to come again in the future I will certainly let you know.

Leave a Reply

