World Book Day : celebrations in school, part 5

English: The Diary of Samuel Pepys Esquire, F.R.S.
English: The Diary of Samuel Pepys Esquire, F.R.S. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We have three more selections for you from our Drop Everything And Read series of posts on this blog.  Three more recommendations  reflect some older texts for you to consider.

Mr Pett read from Samuel Pepys‘ writings:  “I talked about an abridged version of the Diary of Samuel Pepys, focusing on how 17th century middle classes would enjoy themselves eating, drinking and going to executions.”

Painting of Samuel Pepys by John Hayls
Painting of Samuel Pepys by John Hayls (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dr Harker chose an equally dark tale:  “I read 3 of my groups a scene from Bram Stoker’s Dracula – the one where Jonathan Harker cuts himself shaving and Dracula goes crazy.  I told them the three things I liked about it were the language (e.g. salutations, from the Latin verb to greet, saluto, the fact that it was an epistolary novel (from the Latin word for a letter, epistula), and that the main character shared my name!  They seemed to enjoy the extract.”

Dracula
Dracula (Photo credit: Ben Templesmith)
English: Bram Stoker (1847-1912), novelist bor...
English: Bram Stoker (1847-1912), novelist born in Ireland, author of “Dracula” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Finally, Mr Moseley told me how he’d enjoyed a novel of William Golding‘s:  “I spoke to my students about one of the books I am reading at the moment The Spire by William Golding and we had a discussion about the book and how Golding uses symbolism in all his novels.”

Cover of "The Spire"
Cover of The Spire

I hope that you have enjoyed this series of blogposts and would welcome any comments about similar projects which you have undertaken, or about the books, poetry and literature featured here.

Author: Berkhamsted School Library

Main aims for Berkhamsted School Library • to provide a central resource for the whole school curriculum • to encourage an ethos of enquiry and discovery • to assist pupils in becoming confident and independent learners • to develop research and information skills throughout the school • to offer resources which enrich cultural values and experiences for pupils, as well as have a role in their recreational life and promote reading for pleasure as a lifelong activity

16 thoughts on “World Book Day : celebrations in school, part 5”

  1. Thank you for any other wonderful article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

  2. I have to get across my respect for your kindness in support of men and women who should have assistance with this study. Your personal commitment to getting the solution all-around came to be incredibly productive and has constantly made many people much like me to achieve their desired goals. Your important tutorial indicates a great deal a person like me and additionally to my colleagues. Thank you; from each one of us.

  3. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this web site. I am hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

  4. I want to show my affection for your generosity giving support to those people that require help on your topic. Your personal dedication to getting the solution all around came to be amazingly effective and have specifically helped people like me to realize their objectives. The warm and helpful suggestions signifies a whole lot to me and extremely more to my fellow workers. Regards; from everyone of us.

Leave a Reply

