World Book Day 2012: Celebrations in School, part 3

Mrs Tomlin, Mrs Murphy and Mr Stewart are our next contributors.  Teaching English, History and Classical Civilisation respectively, they all have fascinating things to say.

Mrs Tomlin says:

“Due to my babies, I find it hard to find time to read. I shared how it has taken me about 4 months to read the first 50 pages of  The Slap [by Christos Tsiolkas] and have made a list of character on the notes page of my iPhone as I keep forgetting who everyone is. I then talked about the texts that I have that I pick up and read when I have a spare 5 minutes – Total Film magazine and a book entitled: It’s Twins: Parent to Parent Advice Through Infancy to Adolescence [by Susan Heim] to try and show that you can have non-fiction on the go and can pick relevant bits that interest you and don’t have to read it cover to cover.”  Thank you, Mrs Tomlin, for some useful advice about reading non-fiction in this way, it often helps when studying to remember this…

Following Mrs Tomlin, Mrs Murphy contacted me:

“I read an extract from The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz by Denis Avey to three of my classes today. It’s a true story by a man who was a British prisoner of war in WWII and was stationed at a prisoner of war camp next door to Auschwitz. He worked alongside some of the prisoners from Auschwitz and made friends with one of them and concocted a plan to swap places with him. I read an extract which gave his reasons for doing this incredibly brave and dangerous thing.

The classes I read it to were so interested- my Year 8s and 9s didn’t know much about the holocaust yet and so were full of questions afterwards. My Year 10s who have learnt about the holocaust were more full of questions about the man and his experiences and I think some of them even took the name of the book down!”

Finally, for part 3, Mr Stewart wrote:

“I shared one of my favourite books with my Year 10 Classical Civilisation class at Kings today – Ancient Athens on Five Drachmas a Day by Philip Matysak. It is a witty and ingenious guide for a tourist travelling back in time to ancient Athens. If you would like to jump into a time machine and travel back in time to  Athens 2500 years ago, then this is the book for you. You can find out  what to see, where to eat and  what to avoid.

I read a poem from the book about the consequences of drinking too much at a symposium – with general hilarity.”  I think we should purchase this one for the library…

 

Author: Berkhamsted School Library

Main aims for Berkhamsted School Library • to provide a central resource for the whole school curriculum • to encourage an ethos of enquiry and discovery • to assist pupils in becoming confident and independent learners • to develop research and information skills throughout the school • to offer resources which enrich cultural values and experiences for pupils, as well as have a role in their recreational life and promote reading for pleasure as a lifelong activity

Leave a Reply

