World Book Day 2012: Celebrations in School, part 2

Continuing with our theme, more of our colleagues reported their successes back to us:

Mrs Pickles, teaching Food Technology, sent me this message:

“I shared Northern Lights with my Year 7 food group as this is a memorable  book for me and we shared lots of ideas about “daemons” and “dust”!  We went on to make parsley dust whilst making our Couscous salad. Ailis wanted me to carry on reading it as we obviously only achieved the first paragraphs.”  I am so impressed that Mrs Pickles was able to take ideas from Philip Pullman‘s novel into the kitchen, sounds like a fun lesson!

Mr Atkinson, a Religious Studies teacher told us this:

” I told the boys that Harry Potter got me into reading, gave them a book token and suggested they give a new book a try especially if they are not into reading as it may spark something. I then suggested that they could read one Harry Potter book a year in order to grow up with the characters…”  Here’s hoping that gets them started.

Our final entry for part 2 comes from Mrs Inchenko, who works in the Old Berkhamstedians’ Office:

“I have just started reading The Paris Wife by Paula McLain – the fictional story of the relationship between Ernest Hemingway and his first wife Hadley.  The book is written in the form of a Hadley’s memoir.  So far I am only at the stage where they are beginning to fall in love, still living in Chicago – yet to move to Paris.  I am looking forward to ‘reaching Paris’ when the Author describes Paris in the 1920s, with characters such as Gertrude Stein, F Scott Fitzgerald and James Joyce.

On the theme of Paris,  I have just read Pure by Andrew Miller.  A wonderful book, which describes the destruction of ‘Les Innocents’ cemetery in Paris during 1785, through the words of the Engineer who is put in charge of the project.  The author brilliantly describes the atmosphere in Paris at that time.  The characters are well formed and I felt a strong connection to them.  I haven’t read any other books by Andrew Miller, but I will certainly be on the look out for them now.”

It’s so good to receive such recommendations from people we work with, and opens up more avenues for us – I am keen to read all of the books listed here!

 

Author: Berkhamsted School Library

Main aims for Berkhamsted School Library • to provide a central resource for the whole school curriculum • to encourage an ethos of enquiry and discovery • to assist pupils in becoming confident and independent learners • to develop research and information skills throughout the school • to offer resources which enrich cultural values and experiences for pupils, as well as have a role in their recreational life and promote reading for pleasure as a lifelong activity

2 thoughts on “World Book Day 2012: Celebrations in School, part 2”

Leave a Reply

