Christmas Reading

We asked our facebook and twitter friends what they’d been reading over the Christmas and New Year breaks and had a very good response!  We told them that we wanted to feature their replies in our blog so here goes…

‘I read an amazing book called Tony and Susan [by Austin Wright] – never seen the act of reading so well described in a novel before’

Fire and Ice by D Stabenow. Also two non-fiction reads – Just My Type [Simon Garfield] and Digital Library Survival Guide [Joseph R Matthews]. Wants to start Wolf Hall [Hilary Mantel] but daunted by length’

State of Wonder by the remarkable author Anne Patchett’

‘PG Wodehouse Code of the Woosters  –  reading out loud to my chap’

‘depressed myself with Of Human Bondage [W. Somerset Maugham] and Love and Mr Lewisham [H G Wells]’

‘Tried to read Tess of the D’Urbervilles [Thomas Hardy] but am struggling…. Haven’t read any classics for a while and reverted to a contemporary novel after about 50 pages.’

‘Caitlin Moran’s ‘How To Be A Woman’. I highly recommend it – very funny and insightful.’

‘I am now reading (and enjoying!) Everything and Nothing by Araminta Hall :o)’

‘I have just started reading “The Help” that I bought my Mum for Christmas only to find she had already read it, so I gave it to myself instead :)’

‘One of the James Herriot books – I think it wasVet in Harness. I’d forgotten how much I love those books!!’

‘Got started on Middlemarch. [George Eliot] Probably won’t finish til sometime after the middle of March.’

A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks and a Lenin: A Biography by Robert Service’

‘Tinker,Tailor,Soldier,Spy by John le Carre. And now The Honourable School Boy. Am working my way through his back catalogue. I too recommend A Week in December and How to be a Woman. ‘

‘Hi, reading “Safe Haven” by Nicholas Sparks for school book club reasons. It looked terrible, it is terrible. The only upside is that I’m feeling rough but it is so trite I can still read it with half a brain!’

‘Started Ashes to Ashes by Marcus Berkmann over the holiday, a book about cricket’

‘I’ve been given The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes’

‘Great Expectations. I’m halfway through and have to finish it before I can watch the TV version that was on over Christmas!’

May I have your attention, please? James Corden’s autobiography.’

The man who broke into Auschwitz by Denis Avey.’

‘Cracker jokes, “batteries not included”, Parcel tags. [I’m] well read, me!’

‘Using my E Reader in bed….under the covers with the light on it….while my dear husband SNORED for England…..I finished Just Boris: The Irresistible Rise of a Political Celebrity [Sonia Purnell]. Frozen Planet [Alastair Fothergill and Vanessa Berlowitz], coffee table edition, no e reader could do this justice, (I am half way through that). Along with a Boston tourist guide book!’

‘Steve Jobs biography’ [Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography by Walter Isaacson]

Author: Berkhamsted School Library

Main aims for Berkhamsted School Library • to provide a central resource for the whole school curriculum • to encourage an ethos of enquiry and discovery • to assist pupils in becoming confident and independent learners • to develop research and information skills throughout the school • to offer resources which enrich cultural values and experiences for pupils, as well as have a role in their recreational life and promote reading for pleasure as a lifelong activity

Leave a Reply

